Casting on for Something New


Good morning!   I’ve finished my son’s sweater, I’m happy to report.  My picture taking skills leave much to be desired though, so the only picture I have taken so far is out of focus.  I think I can do better so I’ll try again tonight.  He is very happy with it!  It makes me happy when my knitting can make someone else so happy.  Just in time too, for the cooler weather. 

Last night I cast on for a pair of socks.  We’ll see how they turn out….I’ll keep you posted.  I am using size 1.5 mm dpns and a fine fingering weight yarn (Austermann step).  I think (being a person who doesn’t do proper guage swatches) that the guage is about 12 sts per inch.  I’m ‘inventing’ the pattern as I go and keeping notes.  I want them to be lacy, fit nicely, probably ankle socks because I really hate socks that go higher than the ankle.  I am using the Eastern Cast On method and going toe up.  I love the truly seamless sock!

Leave a Reply

