Distractions…

Working on the Cable and Lace socks and then the new pattern for my daughter has worn me out for sock knitting…for now 🙂

The first sock is almost done…the pattern worked out beautifully.  I just cannot bring myself to knit the rest right now.  My hands need a break. 

I’m debating on a name for the new pattern (I improvised this – including the lace)…I started out with the idea of ‘I Love You Baby’ socks but now the name ‘Sweetheart Lace’ is winning in my head.  What do you think?  Comment and let me know!  Here is a picture of the lace….

100_0530

Wouldn’t they be awesome in a solid or almost solid yarn? 

I’m so pleased with how well the hearts stand out.  It is a knitted lace pattern with yarn overs and increases/decrease on every row.  Some of the rows are a little tight and take some patience (to avoid dropping sts) but I think the results are worth it.  I will finish these before Christmas!  I have to, they are for my daughter 🙂

I was looking at the buckets of yarn around here, lol, and decided to make my husband a blanket for Christmas.  I want this to be a REAL surprise so I’m only working on it when he isn’t home.  Lucky for the blanket he works a lot…he drives many hours back and forth a day on top of a long physical workday.  The man is always cold and enjoys laying on the couch and relaxing at the end of the day.  He doesn’t wear knitted anything either!  So the blanket is born….

I’m using odds and ends in chunky – ish (it’s a blanket, lol).  If I have a colour, it’s probably going in there. 

100_0527 

I have quite a bit of the green (shetland chunky) and the gold fleck (moda dea cache) and the red (berella astrakhan – superwash wool) and odds and ends of everything else.  It’s fun to make.  No counting, no measuring, no nothing, just sense and zen knitting.   Freeform.  It is not perfectly even, or perfect in any way!  It will be perfectly imperfect, lol.  I’m just going to match the sizes of finished squares.  It’s relaxing for me.  I’m probably crazy. 

The last thing I need is another ‘on the go’ project but I’ve started an embroidered table runner as well.  My mom gave me the kit yesterday and I needed something to do when my husband is home…!  So of course I had to start it. 

I’m off to work on that blanket! 

One thought on “Distractions…

Leave a Reply

