Unplanned Pregnancy

100_0888

We think Miss Daisy is pregnant! 

She was in heat when we were moving and must have bred with our basset hound.  I’m a little worried! 

 Having done a  little research, the cross breed is ‘so called’ recognized as basschund???  I’m almost certain that it should be the basset female, daschund male — not the way it is for ours.  Of course they don’t really say.  The babies tend to look like sturdy daschunds.

She has all the symptoms – according to the day I believe she may have become pregnant (moving day itself is the only day I think), she should be expecting in about two weeks.  I haven’t taken her to the vet yet, not sure if we will or wait to see if there are complications.  I know daschunds tend to have difficulty sometimes no matter what.  I’m so nervous for her. 

Thankfully I have done this before with a rottweiller we used to have and her litter.  I had to help her throughout the birth but ALL her babies lived and there were 9 — one was born on the lawn and not breathing and I roughed him up until he breathed and then made the mom take him.  It took a bit but that mom got the idea.  I hope Daisy does as well!

We’re setting her up a ‘cave’ soon…a large cave like dog crate we have that I think she will really like to keep her babies in.  The top comes off in case we need to look in. 

I wish wish wish that I could find more information on the net but I’ve spent days looking and there isn’t much specific.

I’m on pins and needles.  Wish us luck!

5 thoughts on “Unplanned Pregnancy

  1. I can’t think of anything cuter than a basset dachsie puppy. Wish I could see them! I hope Daisy does well and puppies are born safely.

  2. Can’t wait to see pictures of the puppies – bassets make the most interesting mixes.

    Miss Daisy is a beautiful girl – how could he resist?

Leave a Reply

