So Much To Learn!

I’m wondering if anyone who learns to spin ever has time to knit again? 

I feel like I’ve been sucked into the new-hobbie-hole where the wools will be beautiful but there will be no time to knit them…

LOL.  I get this way with new things, especially new hobbies and things like that that I want to learn.  I’ve been fascinated with spinning since I was a little girl and it’s just awesome knowing that I can DO that 🙂

In between crochet rounds (yes, I’m really still working just not really fast) I’ve done a little research and found out just how much I don’t know! 

100_0917

Firstly, I had no idea that different weight spindles are used for different weight yarns.  It turns out mine is about in the middle?  I’m guessing — 1.4 oz.

I didn’t know there were top and bottom whorl spindles.   Mine is a bottom whorl but I’m wondering why I couldn’t turn it (if I wanted to) and use it in the other direction?  It has a knob on the bottom (like a turning top) that has room to tie off in or use a half hitch to hold the yarn and the notch on the spindle part itself.  I will likely be trying this soon!  It seems awkward, so far I’m very happy with the bottom whorl but it would be nice to know if it COULD be done.

I didn’t see very many spindles like mine online…nothing exactly.  I had no idea it was so unique!  There is no metal hook on mine, just a notch in the wood.  The whorl isn’t round – it’s cut in a flower shape and the bottom has that knob rather than just a point or rounded tip.

Then there’s the spinning itself! 

I had no idea about worsted and woolen spun.  Now I understand worsted is when the fibres are kept straight against one another as they are spun, leaving less air between the fibres and making it less likely to felt or fuzz.  Also less warm though.  The woolen spun is when the fibres are fed in more randomly (? – probably not the proper term!) and so more air is trapped amongst them making for a more wooly and warm wool which tends to pill and felt.

The book I began learning from was supposed to be instructions on how to spin worsted wools but didn’t actually explain what that meant, lol.

I’ve also learned that I do want to overspin the singles a little because the plying will remove the extra spin.  Otherwise you end up with what I did in places…singles which are almost roving again once they were plyed.  Learning is a good thing!

I found myself unplying cotton scraps last night instead of throwing them out after sewing up some of the flower blocks. 

Clearly a side effect of spin-itis!  I just wonder if I could spin them into some kind of really interesting yarn?  I plan on trying it sometime!

100_0918

2 thoughts on “So Much To Learn!

  1. I’ve been wanting to learn to spin for a while but it sounds so complicated and I know that if I ever did get it figured out I’d be too distracted by it to ever do anything else.lol.

  2. Go for it! You’ll love it I think. It is addictive though, lol.

    I’m working on a second try, using the same roving — I’m getting a much finer thread now. It may even work for socks! I’m also trying to get enough yardage for the socks!

Leave a Reply

