Fantastic Day!

Spent the day outside yesterday…it was so nice out! I raked and bagged the leaves in our new yard and wow! what a job!!

100_1161

Although the prior tenants SAY they kept up with it, I got 26 lawn and leaf bags full of leaves and rotten leaves. That is so far…without getting the last bit off the lawn. It is so bad that most of the grass we could see before raking was the grass that was there…everything under them was dead. Not sure how long but grass doesn’t die that fast…I’ve killed a lot of grass in my time 😉 Quite a coincidence I’m sure but the dead sections are all under large trees…hmmmm…how odd – considering it was ‘kept up with’ as the little girl came over to offer me this info yesterday, ashamed I’m sure at the state of things.

100_1160

The good thing is…Our lawn looks GREAT now…the grass can grow and I’m about to uncover the gardens. They have great potential but have also been let go. The landlord mentioned the poor state of the lawn and gardens when we rented and told me I can do whatever I wish with the garden! I plan to place my veggies in amongst the flowers and shrubs around the house. I think the soil looks really good – unlike our house in the city where it was all back filled and not very good for growing stuff.

The kids, yesterday, suggested that I take a ‘before’ picture and now I wish I had but since I didn’t….here’s a bit of a picture of the side yard (taken from the front porch this morning lol)

100_1159

and the boys..taking out the dogs…

100_1158

Leave a Reply

