Silver Lights…

I’m up to 699 metres of yarn in my recent spinning project!! Yay and thank goodness, lol.

I think I’m going to call it ‘silver lights’. I have a really hard time naming yarn but it’s the ‘done’ thing. As I spun it, (and am still spinning it), the grey comes through as a shiny silver peeking through the black…or that’s what I kept thinking, hence the name…

100_1276

I don’t know if you can see in the picture but the second ‘set’ (on the winder) is a lighter colour…more of the silver is coming through. LOL…it’s not as easy as it looks to make a consistant yarn. I’m thinking I’m going to need to incorporate some subtle striping to make the colours look intentional!

I need about another 300 metres — really hoping the rovings go that far. From now on, I’m going to buy the rovings in two pound lots so in future I don’t have to fret over having enough for a project πŸ™‚

100_1274

3 thoughts on “Silver Lights…

  1. Now I know what that thing I saw at the Antique shop is! I figured it had something to do with knitting (although I am not sure why I thought that) but it doesn’t look quite as nice as your winder.
    So we are having a little trouble with the bread. It is not rising very well. It is being kneaded for 10 min., the liquids are very warm but not boiling and the rising time was an hour. Any advice?
    BTW love the yarn – can’t wait to see the sweater!

  2. Hi Tina πŸ™‚

    I don’t know why the bread isn’t rising. It could be that it’s not warm enough while it rises (bread hates a draft) or it could be that the liquids are not the correct temp, either too cold or too hot. You may need to get a candy thermometer so that you can make sure they are between 120-130 degrees, exactly. I really hope it works out better next time. Sometimes, it’s just flukey and weird and the odd batch doesn’t work out properly.

    Thank you about the yarn! I think it’s turning out nicely and really HOPE I get enough to make N a nice sweater! I think I should get another 200 or 300 metres out of the roving I have left. Hopefully soon I’ll have more to show πŸ™‚

    Have a great day, I’ll call you this weekend!

  3. I am impressed. The Silver Lights is a gorgeous yarn, wish I had thought of it. I would love to see the sweater. Glad you are having fun with the roving you got. See you soon.

Leave a Reply

