Making Do :)


I’m trying to spin a three ply with only three bobbins and wanted to come up with a way to make it work without having to wind any of the singles into a ball before plying. Patience isn’t my strong suit, lol, so I didn’t want to wait for a chance to buy a fourth bobbin.

Ta Da….


I spun it on the first three hooks and built a little separator out of a scrap of cardboard — and duckie stickers of course! :)



I’ve done half a bobbin of the dark orange on it’s own bobbin (I was still thinking about the problem, lol)


So far, so good! I’m pretty happy with this idea…I’ll let you know how the plying goes :)

9 thoughts on “Making Do :)

  1. Hello. I found your blog through the WordPress tag surfer. I think the cardboard ‘stopper’ is a great idea!! I’ve got to remember to try this when I get in a spinny tizzy and don’t want to buy more bobbins. I currently have 8 and sometimes even THAT doesn’t seem like enough.. But this…this I have to try. Thank you for the inspiration!!

  2. Hi! I’m glad you like the idea…I’ve never seen anything like it but it made sense to me :) I’d LOVE to have so many bobbins but I guess the same problems come up…LOL, since I began spinning I can’t seem to finish one thing before I’m starting another. Hopefully I’ll be ready to test the idea in the plying stage very soon…I’m rushing because I can’t wait to see! It’ll be my first three ply.

  3. Pingback: Episode 17.5– News!! « BeanKnits and Spins!-Now a Podcast Page!

  4. You know, that’s a terrific way to “fill” a bobbin and be sure you can fit it on a bobbin when you ply, too … heck, you could put 2 of your guards in and do a 3-ply from one bobbin onto itself. Hmmm …. wanders off in search of bobbins …

  5. Another great idea…you are so resourceful! So thankful to have found your site! I recently purchased my first saxony wheel~ what a treat to find your blog and get more ideas! You are amazingly gifted and thank you for sharing your talents with us~!

Leave a Reply

