Some Slippers And A Frog…

I’ve already begun knitting up some of the coned wool — the lambswool, specifically.

I made a pair of Cable Guy Felted Slippers for my cousin’s father in Newfoundland, for Christmas. I’m still wavering on whether it’s best to felt them NOW or to send them, unfelted, with instructions, for a perfect fit. I prefer the perfect fit method but I worry that it may get, somehow, messed up on the other end. Or, heaven forbid, they may wreck the washing machine if they don’t follow the instructions. It’s hard to enforce instructions from a few provinces away!

Not the best picture…

100_1678

I’m starting another sweater for my son…attempt number two! The first, (if you recall), was done with my silver lights handspun. It’s turning out nice but, if I’m being perfectly honest…the guage is wrong for the wool. SO! I’ve frogged it and started another pattern with the lambswool. I’ll have to handwash it, of course, but so be it.

I’ll make the boy a sweater/hat/mitten set from the handspun…superwash is perfect for those things anyways 🙂

My other wip’s are still lounging in work-in-progress-land…

One thought on “Some Slippers And A Frog…

  1. I’m gearing up to try this pattern myself, but I’ve never made anything with a heal so I’m not sure about most of what I’m doing. Any advise you could offer would be great! I get lost when it says to turn the heal after making the heal flap.

    I do, however, have some felting instructions from a different project I’m about to start that may help you in your future felting endevors.

    Hand Felt:
    Fill a basin with hot water from the tap — as hot as you can get it.
    (Note: The water temperature should be only as hot as you feel safe putting your hands in. Please, be safe; wear rubber gloves if you’re unsure of how the temperature will affect your
    skin.)
    Immerse the item and knead it gently, squeezing and rotating it until it begins to felt (approx 10 minutes).
    Cont to knead until it has felted as much as desired or until individual sts are no longer visible.
    Roll item gently between 2 towels and lay flat to dry, patting out the item so it is smooth and the edges aren’t rolling.

    Excerpt from…
    http://www.classiceliteyarns.com/pdf/RenFallingLeavesBag.pdf

    🙂

Leave a Reply

