Who Knew?

I finished up the second mitten this morning and learned something I had no idea about!

I’m a knitter who has learned from books and by reading on the internet I’ve learned so much more BUT I had no idea that floating a colour on the bottom vs the top of the main colour had such a BIG effect on the results!

I’ve learned that I like to float the pattern colour on the bottom and let the main colour be on top. It makes the pattern colour so much more prominent!

These are the fronts – you can’t quite see the difference, or at least not as well…

100_2007

And the backs…LOL…where you can surely see the difference!!!

100_2008

The one on the right…I like that one πŸ™‚ It has the coloured floats held to the bottom. The one on the left? Not so much. Black is the prominent colour and the brights are almost lost. They are staying as is though…a learning experience and I’m not big on ‘re-dos’.

The moral of the story? Writing down your float orientation IS useful IF you tend to pick up and put down projects or (gasp!) get sidetracked.

Lesson learned πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Who Knew?

  1. Thank you so much for observing and charing. I have sometimes wondered why two things of a kind often came out with a different look, but I never figured out why. Last night I knitted 2 thumbs stranded in black and white, and now I know, why they are not quite the same. Thank you.

    Thank you.

  2. Anne πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for publishing this beautiful pattern!! My daughters just adore it — it’s so bright and cheerful.

    Thank you again πŸ™‚

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

