Silk!

So, I’m sure we’ve all done it. Bought that beautiful yarn – that ‘must have’ – and then discovered that it’s not so easy finding the ideal use for it.

My most glaring example are the ten balls of Plymouth Shire Silk in sea green in my stash. Had to have them. Love the feel. The texture. The nubbiness.

Yet every single thing I’ve tried to knit with them has been frogged.

I’ve had them for two years now! A sweater’s worth of silk without a purpose.

Silk is warm, strong, resists mold and mildew while being very absorbant and is VERY lightweight. So…I’m trying it in a scarf…

100_2010

It’s working out beautifully! Sure, I won’t have enough left for most sweaters but at this point I’m just really happy to find a use for it. Not sure it’ll do for a matching hat – we’ll see…

2 thoughts on “Silk!

  1. hello! came across this post via ravelry and am wondering how your scarf turned out. i did the same thing recently — fell in love with the silk in a shop, bought 3 balls, and have been unable to settle on a project. I might try this one though… thanks for sharing!

    v

  2. Hi 🙂

    The scarf turned out great. I gave it to my middle daughter for Christmas (she loves scarves) and she loves it! LOL, now I just have to find a way to use the rest of the silk I have…

Leave a Reply

