Something Bright!

100_2022

I’m a little sick of Christmas knitting – I needed a break from the pressure, lol. So, I started this with acrylic scraps to lighten the mood. It will be a blanket, some day! I’m winging it, making each square as it comes with two colours – trying not to repeat myself too much, lol. The basic knitted mitred square was a little tricky to figure out at first but I’ve got one I like now. (I decrease at the centre three times every four rows, every row for the last four rows). I’m using smallish needles so it’s a little hard on the hands (3.25 mm with worsted weight yarn).

Seriously, I need to lay out all the things I’ve made for Christmas and fill in the gaps — money is tighter than tight and our Christmas is going to be as small as it’s ever been this year. The knitting isn’t the ‘little gift on the side’ – it’s the main thing.

I tried making apple studel yesterday, for the first time. What a beautiful thing! I didn’t realize (my recipe was one that didn’t include cooking times) and probably undercooked mine a bit so I’m going to be trying again. It was delicious though 🙂 The dough is so weird – you stretch it like pizza dough but it’s unleavened and it stretches paper thin.

I suppose I should decorate for Christmas but I’m hesitant. Not sure if it will feel more festive or more depressing since we don’t have any gifts this year. Guess I should do it for the kids. Thankfully they are old enough to understand our situation. I wish that meant they wouldn’t be dissapointed. I know they’ll try not to be.

Leave a Reply

