So Not Socks!

100_2147

This is my version of ‘Tempest‘ from knitty by Ann Weaver. I followed the pattern advice and went with negative ease (28″ bust – I am a 32/34) and I love how it fits – other than I wouldn’t mind it a little longer, maybe by a couple stripes or so…

100_2145

100_2146

I used two balls of sock yarn – one ‘ranco multy’ and one austermann ‘step’. What an awesome alternative to socks!! I’m so glad I didn’t use these up before now 🙂 The ranco was a birthday gift I recieved last February and I’ve had the step even longer, lol. Now, instead, I have this beautiful sweater!

I made a few modifications;

*knit the body in one piece up to the armhole shaping.
*knit the sleeves in one piece and lengthened them to long sleeves, decreasing the amount of stitches cast on.
*lengthened the body at the waist by two small stripes.

Then I spent the entire afternoon sorting buttons from the vintage button stash. I found some nice copper buttons and used those…

I can’t believe I finished this in four days! Of almost constant work, mind you…

One thought on “So Not Socks!

  1. I just discovered your blog via ravlery. I love what you did with Tempest. This pattern has been in the back of my mind ever since it was published. But with sock yarn! What a great idea. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

