Mastectomy Is A Shocking Word

Good morning!

Happy to say I’ve had my surgery and I’m OK. It went very well, I thought. Though, when I saw the word ‘Partial Mastectomy‘ on my paperwork, it sent me for a loop.

What a word.

They ended up taking more tissue than expected…as it turned out there was an infection and more than one cyst. They took the ducts too.

I’m all bandaged up with clear tape and am pleasantly surprised that, so far, I’m not in any pain, at all. I’m taking antibiotics for the infection, for a week. Have a pain killer prescription as well but haven’t had to fill it, at least not yet.

I’m sleeping a lot. Dreaming a lot. Knitting a lot. Kind of emotional. I wonder if it’s normal to be a little hormonal after something like this?

Then again, what is this ‘normal’?

I hope this is the end of it. May the infection clear and the healing go easy.

Thanks for your support, Samm and Joansie. I appreciated it, a lot!

4 thoughts on “Mastectomy Is A Shocking Word

  1. Glad everything went well. It’s always a little disturbing at first but then the feelings mellow out. Enjoy the knitting. I think this experience warrants a trip to your LYS to purchase some special yarn.

  2. I agree with Joansie about the lys trip. Soon as you feel up to it!!! šŸ™‚ I’m sure this has thrown you for a loop, the worrying ahead of time and the anesthetic does things to your body. I remember the weird feelings after my surgery, too. I’m delighted you aren’t having pain! That’s a plus! Heal well now, friend!!! And conscript someone to drive you to the lys very soon. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

