The Second Set

I wanted to try to make another set of wool combs.

100_2454

100_2457

This time, I used some scrap needleword framing wood (no idea what type but it seems really light) with bamboo handles (from the dollar store wooden spoons) and again the 3.5 inch finishing nails but I bent them this time.

100_2477

LOL, not easy but possible. I used a large wrench, a set of pliers and traced the original on paper to match the rest with.

100_2478

I used the 5 minute epoxy again and left them to set for almost 24 hours.

100_2496

They seem to work a bit better than my first set because of the curved ends. Really happy with them!

100_2502

8 thoughts on “The Second Set

  1. This is a real inspiration, in more than one way. I want to learn more about combs and combing, but over and above that, it proves Beth’s assertion that you can do anything you set out to do if you really want it. She calls that arrogance, but I’d call it confidence (which is the same but nicer!) Well done on making a successful pair of combs, and those first rovings look beautiful – I think we have similar taste in colour!

    • Thanks so much! I like to think that we can make anything we need, if not as “prettily” as the “professional” ones we can buy. 🙂 I’m using them now to comb the shetland fleece and they’re working excellently. I’m also going to try to make a more beautiful set out of oak (less than ten bucks at the hardware store) and with 4 ‘dent’ (rows of tines) – two of those shorter, two bent like the ones I’ve already made. Perhaps this weekend – I’ll post them when they’re done. I’m really hoping to figure out a way to keep the tines from ‘wandering’ when the epoxy is drying.

      Lisa 🙂

  2. Thanks for the great idea!! I too don’t have an extra $120 laying around so I can’t wait to try your DIY instructions. Thanks a million!

Leave a Reply

