A Hard Week

This week has been really hard for us. Our beautiful Lukie (the basset hound) passed away last friday after suffering from poisoning for over a month.

100_2467

I seriously think they ought to stop selling rat/mouse poisons to the general public. Why, with all they know about the dangers of poison, do they presume that everyone who CAN buy them WILL use them responsibly? For that matter, they have outlawed pesticides here but yet still sell the poison??

Our boy got into a box that was irresponsibly left OUTSIDE behind our home when the back neighbor moved out. This is what we assume because he was never unsupervised or off leash. The vet couldn’t confirm the type of poison but 2+2 still equals 4.

We buried him by his favorite stream at the farm, on Saturday. It’s been a very difficult time.

I’ve been knitting the shetland, some more. The sweater is coming out beautifully with my mods and I should have something to show soon.

Oh, yes, and still washing the rambouillet fleece. That’s about halfway done. I have the second half soaking and a BUNCH to comb and process. I like to get it to the combed top in little nests stage and that way it’ll be ready for me when I want to spin it.

I’ve become fascinated with the idea of weaving. I have no idea how really, unless it was the ‘Wild Fibres’ article about the weaving in Morocco – yes, that was likely it! I highly recommend that magazine. I bought it for the first time and read it cover to cover the same day. Really really well done and informative. I may have to find space and pull out the weaving loom from Seneca College that I have!

Take care. Hopefully by tomorrow or so I’ll have a lacy sylphish cardigan to show you 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Hard Week

  1. Poor Lukie and my condolences to you. We love our pets too, and losing Lukie this way is extra difficult. I’m so sorry.
    I do have a question about the fleece that’s soaking, the two colours of it. I know nothing about this process but wonder if you will separate the different sections, the white from the coloured.

  2. Thanks, about Lukie. 🙂

    The white fleece is actually all white but really dirty. The tips (some of them) seem somewhat damaged by sun or dirt and some of them are breaking off when I comb it. I’ll post pictures of the combed fibre soon! You’ll be amazed at how beautifully white it’s becoming! I know it’s amazing to me, lol, at least.

    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

