Wow

I know it’s been a while since I posted here on the blog!

If you’re sitting down, I’ll show you the most shocking of the ‘what’s new?’ first…

Ok, I shaved my head. Yes. Really.

Before…
100_3265

After…
100_3268

And today (did it last night)…
100_3269

Most shocking?! I’m still me 🙂 As it turns out, femininity is not necessarily in the hair 😉

It was the scariest and most empowering thing I’ve ever done. LOL. When it grows in, I’m going to get one of those really sexy/cute short haircuts. The thing is…I’ve ALWAYS had long hair. Always.

The weirdest thing? It feels GREAT. Seriously great. Doesn’t, perhaps, look so great, lol – but it’s good. And it’s only hair – it will grow back.

And, I’ve been busy – doing lots of things.

Right now I’m a little obsessed with a knitted coat called the ‘silver coat’. It’s a pattern a lady made herself from a coat she saw in a store and she’s generously shared it on ravelry. I’m trying it with my coned ‘wine’ spinrite wool. My guage is way off but I’m making the necessary adjustments to the pattern. It’s a long coat with a full skirt and cable details – an a-line design and very attractive, I think!
100_3264

I knitted a scarf out of my handspun “unspun” yarn (in violet) – the Prismatic Scarf pattern…
100_3229

I knitted a sweater for myself, after spinning the jacob super bulky first. It’s a Drops pattern, modified…
100_3230

I changed the neckline to be a scoop neck, and shortened the yoke…
100_3241
100_3236

It’s super cozy…I just need to sew on the buttons, which I already bought (and was shocked at the price of) but haven’t sewn on. A perfect loose knit summer sweater – our house gets really cool even in summer!

I finished the Fishie quilt, for our cousin in Quebec…
100_3254

I think it turned out fantastic…so bright and colourful! I hand quilted it with a blue thread…
100_3256
100_3257
100_3258

Have a fabulous day! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Wow

  1. Why the hair? If you wanted short hair why didn’t you just cut it?
    When i lost my hair due to chemo that was the most awful thing that happened to me, even worse than finding out i had cancer or the big ugly scar i had from the surgery. i guess its because the scar is covered up and the hair is visible?! the day it started falling out in clumps my husband said “the light died in my eyes”.
    It’s grown back of course and i’ve been cancer free for five years but i still remember that to be the worst about the whole ordeal.did you donate your hair?

    • I’m so sorry to hear what you’ve been through and how difficult it must have been. I’m very happy to hear that you’ve been cancer free for five years — awesome!

      I’ve been lucky enough to not be dealing with what you’ve been through – I had a BIG scare last november and a partial mastectomy but it seems that all is well right now.

      I shaved it because I was having an extreme allergic reaction of some sort. My skin broke out in an awful rash (which burns like fire) and it took a visit to the doctor (who didn’t, by the way, see the lice – she told me it was ‘all in my head’) and a lot of frustration to even figure out what the problem was. In the end, I’m happier without the hair and today – just one day later – my rash is quite calmer already, almost gone in places.

      Needless to say, I didn’t think the hair was really ‘donateable’. My mom asked me the same thing!

      Wishing you the best,
      Lisa

  2. Wow, I did that haircut thing (not related in any way to a cancer experience) after having had long hair as part of my life for what felt like forever. It was amazing–one of the best choices I’ve ever made. I felt lighter, free-er, empowered, like I owned my body. Better still, I looked better! My skeptical mother said it “opened up my face” which was her way of saying that I might not have made a terrible mistake. Congrats! Hope you enjoy it!

    • Sorry it took me so long to say so but thank you! 🙂 I totally agree about all the positive feelings involved with doing this! I immediately felt so empowered and I believe I look much better, now that I’ve become used to it. Thanks again! 🙂

  3. I did the same thing, but in two stages – i went from super long hair (which I’d had from 14-39) to a short bob (mid cheek), then a few months later, went from there to the dramatic number 2 all over. and i LOVED it. and still do. Now i have the super ultra-short haircut (#2 on the sides, back and just across the front and slightly longer on top) with a great colour to go with it. I totally understand your and Isinha’s desire to go super short. You are great. It feels so GREAT!

Leave a Reply

