Bats and Other Distractions

Yes, I know, it’s been ages since I’ve kept the blog in the fashion it has become accustomed to!

100_3467
(This is my ‘snowflake princess’ – on ravelry – from the snow queen pattern. It’s for the baby-to-be if the baby is a girl, if not it’s for a future baby-to-be 🙂 Who could help it? It’s adorable)

I have been busy and it’s been quite a summer. Some of it was excellent, some of it was extremely stressful and annoying.

I’ve been distracted from my knitting, and the blog by a thorough house sort and clean – not that it wasn’t a great idea, it really, really was! – but not on my timing, it was decided by a problem we have had here – BATS!!!! in our (rental) home.

I couldn’t bear the idea that they may be anywhere here so I spent about a week or two cleaning like a maniac and sorting everything we own. Basement included. What a job! So the second hand store now has about ten bags full of extra clothes, toys, and household goods and the garbage tag people are finally getting a little help from us, lol.

The house does look beautiful!

I *think* the problem is solved…we’ve had a company in who specializes in excluding bats. They’ve sealed the house and I’ve duct taped the hell out of the inside of the house to prevent them coming into the living space. Apparently they leave little ‘doors’ that work one way only and the bats may leave but they cannot get back in. Now I just have to get over the thought that there are some stuck in the house.

LOL – I seriously wish I had a nanny cam or some such thing to film over night. It’s really hard to know whats really going on…I suspect they’ve been here all summer and we only just noticed them because we usually sleep at night. Lately I’ve been unable to sleep and that’s how I discovered two of them flying through the house at 3 am-ish about two or three weeks ago. Not nice. They are known to carry rabies and are the leading cause of human rabies.

So – a little distracting, yes?

I’ll have to catch up on everything else in another post! May your day be fabulous and your home bat-free 🙂

One thought on “Bats and Other Distractions

  1. sorry to hear about your bat problem, but your snowflake princess is absolutely precious!!! I will have to add that pattern to my Ravelry list of to-dos 🙂

Leave a Reply

