The Snowdrift Sweater!

100_3926

100_3924

100_3923

Check it out πŸ™‚

I had this idea in my head for a while and finally felt like spending the time to make it. It’s seamless (my favorite) and bottom up. I didn’t use any exact ‘method’ to shape the sleeve caps — unless ‘guess-as-you-go’ is a method, lol. A little bit of raglan shaping, a little bit of set in sleeve shaping and a few short rows to make it all work. Not bad, if I do say so myself. It’s my very first sweater design πŸ™‚

The slippers were driving me nuts!! You can really only knit about 18 pairs before you want to run screaming down the street. You may have guessed, I’ll be putting off the rest of my slipper-test-knitting until after Christmas (…if then, the way I feel right now). The slipper pattern itself seems to be excellent but I’m trying to test knit every size in different wools for a true pattern test. I’d hate to say that something works if I haven’t tested it myself.

Happy knitting! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “The Snowdrift Sweater!

  1. What a pretty sweater! I am in awe of anyone who designs a sweater pattern, and this one is exceptional! I love the lacy pattern – it would actually be a great pattern for Florida – too hot here for most sweater designs!

    • Thanks!

      I like to pretend I live in Florida πŸ™‚ Actually, I love light(ish) sweaters.

      I may write up the pattern (I have pages of notes) – my method is to knit and write it down as I do rather than write it out and then knit it. However! (the big however), I have never graded a pattern (made it up in different sizes) so this one is (so far, until I figure that out) just one size right now.

      One fantastic thing about not knowing ‘how’ really is that I am not bound by any of the rules! The sleeves – especially the caps, for example, fit really nicely because I just kept on figuring out how to get the right shape instead of how to ‘do it right’.

      With any luck this will become a pattern I can share πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

