A Slider CPW!

Another one saved! Hopefully she will soon be in spinning shape again…

slider cpw 001.JPG

We got her from a lovely lady in Sudbury. The wheel was her great grandmother’s (on her father’s side) and has been in storage for years. The seller’s husband wanted to THROW IT OUT!!!

So, you see, we saved her in the nick of time!

Her wheel is seperated, a little, at one of the joins…
slider cpw 007.JPG

Pretty sure I’ll be taking out the screws shortly. I just need to figure out if it’s best to take them out first and then oil the wheel or oil and then remove. I’m thinking the first option but waiting for advice from those that know before I begin! She’s been through enough already.

I’ll be replacing the missing spokes, either with old ones (if I can find them) or with new ones – we’ll see 🙂

Her flyer is beautiful but needs a little work…

022.JPG

slider cpw 016.JPG

She has the slider tension…
slider cpw 014.JPG

Her footman is the old hammered type – original, I think…
slider cpw 009.JPG

slider cpw 008.JPG

She’s going to need a little tlc but I think she’s going to be just perfect, when she’s done 🙂

8 thoughts on “A Slider CPW!

  1. Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to post a record of all your hard work. My wife Renée and I recently inherited a lovely old spinning wheel and I’ve spent part of this morning online trying to identify it – your blog was the final stop as ours is a perfect match to your slider CPW and your blog is the only place I found this wheel online. I love your practical and careful DIY repairs and your desire to bring these lovely old wheels back into service rather than seeing them relegated to “decoration” status. Ours is also in need of some leather bits and a footman and maybe a new whorl but I’ve learned quite a lot this morning and I’m thrilled to find that there are people like you documenting and sharing your experience on the subject.

    Rest assured that your example and information will encourage us to fix ours up and get it back in service. I’m also happy to learn that these wheels are Canadian and possibly made in Quebec as we’re farmers in rural Quebec and it seems quite fitting that one should come home for restoration and to be put back to work in a little old farmhouse perhaps much like her first home.

    Thanks again and take care.

    ~ Reid and Renée
    les Cedres, QC

    • Thanks so much for your lovely comment!

      The slider is likely made by a man named ‘Vezina’ (F.N.) in Vercherres during the later part of the 1800′s or the early part of the 1900′s. I am part of a group that has tried to trace the makers, using makers marks and historical Canadian records (censuses and business directories as well as ancestry type records). These sliders seem more rare than the tilt tensioned wheels that tend to define the ‘Canadian Production Wheels’. A Canadian Production Wheel generally has tilt tension with an iron componant (either an iron clamshell or a tilt/bar type system that allows the moa to tilt to increase or decrease tension)and the iron treadle – the slider Vezinas seem almost a ‘mid’ way invention since they work more like a traditional saxony (with the mother of all moving toward and away from the wheel to change tension, much like the screw tension saxonies) but yet they use the iron parts. An interesting type, for sure!

      I have found something that I want to share – the Vezina spins BEAUTIFULLY – I suggest even more beautifully than the tilt tensioned (more traditional cpw) wheels I have!

      Enjoy your wheel! If I can help in any way, at all, please do write to me and I’ll be happy to help

      Have a wonderful day!
      Lisa

  2. Lisa,
    Hi. Interesting to see these pics,didnt see them before.Why I am so intested,is because mine also appears to be a sliding tension one.In fact the flyer view from the top,looks just like mine. my peg attachment was loose (was glued at some stage,but has come loose)and have done a temp fix.However,still having trouble getting my tension right,now that it isnt moving that much with the repair.
    Can you please explain how to set the tension to me again?I cant work out how tight the underneath screw on the moa base needs to be ,nor the tension screw.
    Thanks Lisa.

    • Hi Lynn 🙂 Could you maybe get some pictures of the parts that are giving you trouble with adjustment? If you could (and put them on Ravelry or make them available somewhere else), I could see and advise you better 🙂 Have a great day, Lisa

  3. Hi Lisa,
    I have put them on Ravelry.They are in the project area.all the pics are there.Please have a look and let me know.
    You enjoy your day.Lynn

  4. Hi Lisa,
    Beautiful wheel. I just purchased the same slider wheel, although the footman and treadle support I don’t believe they are the original ones, as the footman is wood and the treadle support under the metal treadle is wide and the wood not turned.
    Do you know where I could get replacement parts for it? Thanks
    Nancy

    • Hi Nancy,
      Depending where you live, there may be someone local who could help you with a repair. Try going to Ravelry and checking out the Antique Wheel Group or Cpw group – there is some excellent advice there and information on some great people who work on wheels. How does the wheel work? Are the repairs necessary to make it function properly?
      Lisa

      • Hi Lisa
        I live in the NWT, no chance for many antiques here…
        I did get the wheel to work, I was just hoping to find parts for it to keep it authentic. Thanks for ravelry tip.
        I Really enjoy your blog.
        Take care
        Nancy

Leave a Reply

