Where To Begin…?

Yes, it has been a while! I’ve been stuck in this place called ‘the rabbit hole’ since I bought that first antique wheel. The rabbit hole looks something like this…

039

The wheels are abundant…and beautiful…

I’ve been busy cleaning them and oiling them and doing my best to get them spinning well. Grandma is doing very well with her new spokes! She’s also glowing from her blo treatments…her old self is shining…

004.JPG

I carved her spokes from a dowel, since I didn’t have a lathe. It began because I was thinking of putting dowels in place, temporarily, until I could get replacements made. Necessity is the mother of invention, for sure! I just gave it a try and figured it out along the way…

carving spokes 001.JPG

carving spokes 004.JPG

carving spokes 009.JPG

001.JPG

011.JPG

And then she had her clean-up…

017.JPG

And now she is much more beautiful… πŸ™‚

136.JPG

She spins really well! I’ve spun a two ply superwash merino (approx. sock weight), so far…

112.JPG

098.JPG

Winding those bobbins of singles was enough to convince me I NEEDED to built a bobbin winder. More on that coming up tomorrow. I used a formerly-useless spinning wheel type object to do it!

2 thoughts on “Where To Begin…?

  1. Boy it really is a rabbit hole isn’t it LOL! I now own 5 wheels (3 antique) and am hoping to purchase a Norwegian reproduction wheel at some point. There is no more room in my house and DH is begging me not to buy any more. Thanks for your help on Ravelry πŸ™‚

    • It really is!!! Ahhh…I like those norwegian wheels too. My wheel-lust is getting out of hand, space wise, as well πŸ™‚ Were it now for how well they ‘parallel park’, I’d be completely out of space. As it is, there is a little ‘living room’ in the living room still but not much, lol πŸ™‚ You’re very welcome for the help and I’m looking forward to seeing how your wheel spins!

      Lisa

Leave a Reply

