What A Beautiful Day!

Absolutely LOVING the gardens this year…(and they are loving me right back)
beautiful yard 004

Our veggies are planted and yesterday we added a strawberry garden too…
beautiful yard 003

I’ll have to get a picture of it since it’s tucked away in the corner there, by the grape vines šŸ™‚

The fruit trees are starting to blossom! We have pear and apple, I believe šŸ™‚ New houses are always fun when no-one leaves you a garden map. I feel like an explorer, finding new things every day in the garden.
beautiful yard 002

I’ve decided to take a chance that the frosts are done for the year and get everything in now – I may be sorry but I’m doubting that. LOL – my way is to plant it and give it to nature – I help nature out by using my fleece soak water as liquid fertilizer and by weeding a little šŸ™‚ If it works out it’s fabulous – if not we’ll plant a few more things in a couple weeks šŸ™‚ I have some pepper plants and some cherry tomatoes that I’ve started in the house which are yet to be placed in the garden. Other than that we’ve got parsnips, carrots, lettuce (leaf and romaine), brocolli, corn, turnip, tomaotes, parsley, pumpkins, watermelons, cucumbers, radishes, peas. I’m thinking of adding a blueberry garden in the centre circle which currently houses some rose bushes. Roses are nice but blueberries are better šŸ™‚ I can always move the roses to a spot along the fence! I’ve also found some rosemarey (my favorite herb) and something that I’m SURE is an herb and smells like lemon – I assume herb because it’s in the garden itself and the prior owners of this house were dedicated gardeners!

After a week of rain, I’m so happy that the sun is out šŸ™‚ I managed to wash most of the mystery fleece that I was working on in the last post…it came out nice and clean!
drying the wool

There were parts of the fleece I gave up on and left too long in the soak water – they will now be going to live in the back of the yard, near the pine trees, as mulch. Since the fleeces were free and unskirted I feel just fine about that – the hardest part will be lugging it back there šŸ™‚ I still have about half of the total three bags to process and will take a bit more time to skirt these!

I’ve been spinning some icelandic that I washed last year. I thought it was felted but was pleasantly surprised to find it cards up just beautifully and wasn’t really felted at all!
felted icelandic?

icelandic singles - not felted after all :)

Today I really should get back to knitting the socks BUT I have a feeling I just may end up spinning on the deck… šŸ™‚
005

Have a fabulous day!

4 thoughts on “What A Beautiful Day!

  1. Your flowers are gorgeous. I would love to have a garden but living in an apartment makes it kind of hard. That fiber is spinning up beautifully. Enjoy spinning on the deck.

    • Thanks šŸ™‚ An apartment does make it hard. This is the best yard we’ve ever been blessed with – my daughter is in an apartment and she is planning to grow some bush peppers on her deck in containers and (I think) some cherry tomatoes as well.

  2. Those flowers and everything look stunning! I am very interested in those two things you have your fleece drying on, what are there and where can I get some to use myself?

    I have been putting my washed and scoured fleece in some nylon stockings and hanging them on the washing line to sway in the breeze, it works out very well because the air can get right through the tights or stockings but to be able to lay out the fleece instead would be great and I can keep the stockings for mohair locks or similar instead then.

    Beautiful spinning as always

    Helen x

    • Thanks! I am really enjoying the gardens šŸ™‚

      The racks are from a clearance store but they are made for drying sweaters. I wonder if you can buy them at maybe walmart or homesense type stores? I would try there. Here we have a clearance store called Xess Cargo where they sell all kinds of housewares and tools etc. at low prices. They are fantastic and I wish I had more than I do lol. At the time two seemed like lots…

      Have a great day! Lisa

Leave a Reply

