My Newest Wheel – A Little Bit Of A Project

2011 swiss wheel 009

Isn’t she sweet?

2011 swiss wheel 010
(her wheel is on backwards in these pictures)

We purchased her from a local lady and she’s missing her treadle, flyer and bobbin. Altogether though, she is in great shape!

2011 swiss wheel 022

2011 swiss wheel 024

Check out her ‘redness’! I think she was originally a red wheel with a black stripe on the wheel itself, on the inner ‘ring’ of the wheel.

Her hub is solid with only a couple small cracks. Her wheel is slightly seperated but should come back together with a little coaxing, oiling and perhaps the dryness of winter will help if nothing else does. Certainly, my other wheels become quite loose during the winter season.

2011 swiss wheel 015

The leathers are perfect and the rear leather is amazing….a solid chunk of leather!

2011 swiss wheel 013

2011 swiss wheel 011

Hoping to spend some quality time with this lady in the upcoming week and build her a new treadle. I’ll need to find her a flyer or see if one of my other wheels has a flyer which would work as a loaner for now 🙂

Have a fantastic day!

3 thoughts on “My Newest Wheel – A Little Bit Of A Project

    • Thank you 🙂 I don’t know how old she is…have to do a little research once I have a little bit of extra time. I’ll update once I find out more!

  1. Do you have any tips for replacing a flyer and bobbin? Just bought a wheel, I’m not sure of it’s condition yet. But it seems to be in full order, it’s just missing 2 spokes and the flyer/bobbin (and spindle?)… This will be my first real wheel so I’m not really sure what to look for.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

