The Beaumonde Inspired Hat!

100_1955

100_1957

100_1958

I’m so pleased with this hat!! I love how the cable decreases came out sort of ‘leaf’ looking.

It is ladies medium, I would say. I used the drop stitch idea in the first bit and then had it come together on top. The needles are 5 mm and I used my handspun superwash merino – about a heavy worsted I’d say.

The credit goes to SmarieK for her beautiful cables and her fabulous ‘Beaumonde scarf’ pattern – I’ve put this hat pattern in my pages if anyone is interested in making it 🙂

Enjoy 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Beaumonde Inspired Hat!

  1. This hat is wonderful!

    I started following your blog by accident–I was searching for Dachund stuff right when you started posting about your doxie possibly having puppies. But I read it regularly now because your projects are so interesting. Your family is very lucky to be getting such beautiful, made with love gifts this year!

    I’ve always wanted to learn to knit. Could you recommend any websites online that would be good for a beginner to learn how, or do you think it’s something one has to be taught in person?

    Keep up the lovely projects!

  2. Wow, thanks so much!

    I found a site – http://www.learntoknit.com – it looks very good and it might be what you’re looking for.

    I learned, originally, from a book I took out of a children’s library so I’m certain you can teach yourself! I’d recommend starting with something smallish and using a heavier weight yarn, worsted or bulky. There are some great patterns available all over the net if you search ‘free knitting patterns’.

    Some more that look good…

    http://www.burdafashion.com/en/Service/Learn_to_knit/Learn_to_knit/1000001-1633568-1633572.html;jsessionid=8D6DAB7A30B6618361C82C196A6C1BA9

    This next one offers videos, also…

    http://www.knittinghelp.com/

    And another…

    http://knitting.about.com/od/learntoknit/a/begin_knit.htm

    If you get started and have any questions, I’d be more than happy to help!

Leave a comment