I’ve Found Fibre Heaven!

And it’s at the Black Lamb!!!

100_1117

We were lucky enough to be going through Port Hope on the weekend and I was so happy to be able to visit the store! I was so pleased on so many levels πŸ™‚ Excellent friendly service – the owners are so great to talk to – the store is fabulous – the fibre is beautiful and the prices are excellent! I am a happy customer πŸ™‚

100_1115

100_1113

100_1110

100_1111

100_1108

I bought six pounds of mill ends…just over five of the superwash merino in four colours (in pencil roving which I think is great) and just under a pound of an ivory colour seacell/silk (70/30) blend – FOR ME! πŸ˜‰ My son has claimed the grey/black, my older daughter the lavender/purple and my younger daughter isn’t so sure, lol. I just LOVE that now I can spin for sweaters and I’m saving money over what available wool would cost!

I was able to finish my skein of laceweight two ply for the spinning challenge I’m participating in…I ended up with about 30 wpi and 333 metres. I’m unsure about weight as of yet as I haven’t taken it down from drying yet πŸ™‚ I have another little skein because I didn’t guess the balance correctly so I ended up plying that onto itself and it’s quite nice as well. I’ll be skeining that today so I’ll know my total yardage and total weight soon!

100_1097

And, the lace weight singles – not my favorites..I do prefer two ply or more…seems…unfinished…I think it might look great in a pair of the Selbuvotter gloves/mittens though, mixed with either black or white.

100_1121

More pictures of the two ply;

100_1131

100_1134

Have a fabulous day! I’ll be winding rovings πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “I’ve Found Fibre Heaven!

  1. Thanks for the information about The Black Lamb! I didn’t know it existed, and I need help with a wheel that I found. I’m going to contact them. Lovely rovings! Have fun spinning. I like your singles a lot, actually.

  2. You’ll love the black lamb…the rovings I bought? They are the mill ends and so were 8 something a pound! I think they are great πŸ™‚ I get to spin for sweaters without spending an arm and a leg!

    Thanks about the singles πŸ™‚

  3. I was checking out your blog and thought I would say HI. Glad you had success at the Black Lamb and can’t wait for you to visit us again!!!

  4. Hi Tina!! πŸ™‚ It was great…what a deal…and YES, can’t wait to come back…we had a great time and it was so great to see everyone!

  5. I’m as excited as you are I think, I am thrilled that you are enjoying the fibres you got and I’ll be sure to keep an eye on what you are doing. Your spinning is wonderful. Look forward to seeing you again.

  6. I’m really enjoying them a lot!! LOL…I go back and forth between spinning and winding because I just can’t stop TOUCHING them! πŸ™‚ They are so soft and easy to work with.

    I’m looking forward to a return trip and I’ll bring some of te wool for you to see in person! Thanks again πŸ™‚

Leave a comment