Some Last Minute Knits…And A Pattern

I’ve been busy, trying to finish up a few last things for Christmas. Today, I finished three hats (yay, me!)…gotta LOVE bulky yarn and how quickly it knits up!

Two ‘shroom’ hats; (pattern by Lee Wood Juvan and available free at knitty.com)

100_3977

and another in ‘flint’ grey/black which I’d be happy to show you except for the fact that my camera takes THE most crappy pictures after dark! Alright, so pictures asap, lol.

Isn’t the texture in that pattern fantastic? I think it’s a great pattern and definitely worth knitting. With the bulky yarn, it can even handle our winters!

The yarn I used is bernat ‘roving’, an acrylic (80)/ wool (20) mix which is really nice to work with and, I feel, much safer left in the hands of forgetful machine washers than a wool alternative. It’s no fun when you shrink your Christmas hat!

I made a little ‘textured scrap hat’ with the leftovers. It’s nothing fancy but I’m planning to write up the pattern. I think it’s kind of cute and definitely an easy, fast knit which takes next to nothing in the bulky yarn. I had two balls of the roving yarn and after making the two ‘shroom’ hats and the scrap hat, I still have some of each colour left!

I’ve completed the pattern and you can find it here;  supersimpletexturedscraphat 

Lets hope this works.  If you have any trouble with it, please let me know. 

Oh, something I realized I should mention…the gauge for this hat is about 3 sts/4 rows per inch in stockinette.  The finished hat measures 8 inches tall but could be made larger by adding rows to any section you wish or adding another section entirelyl.  I could totally see this hat in a few different colours mixed together, to use up little scraps.

I’ll show you a couple of the night pictures of it and promise to take better ones soon…

100_3985

100_3988

Happy knitting 🙂

2 thoughts on “Some Last Minute Knits…And A Pattern

  1. The chain mail helmet is beautiful! My son loves all that is medieval–would you be willing to share/sell a copy of your pattern?

Leave a comment